Skip to main content

Anyone, 6 months of age and older, is eligible to receive the COVID-19 vaccine. Find your nearest vaccination location at vaccines.gov.

Filing a Charge

Click on one of the areas below to learn more and to file a charge

Image source: /content/dam/soi/en/web/dhr/images/file-a-charge-employment-discrimination-button.png

Image source: /content/dam/soi/en/web/dhr/images/file-a-charge-housing-real-estate-button.png

Image source: /content/dam/soi/en/web/dhr/images/file-a-charge-financial-credit-button.png

Image source: /content/dam/soi/en/web/dhr/images/file-a-charge-public-accomodations-button.png

Image source: /content/dam/soi/en/web/dhr/images/file-a-charge-sex-harassment-education-button.png

Discrimination under the Illinois Human Rights Act

The Illinois Department of Human Rights ("IDHR") is the state agency responsible for enforcing the Illinois Human Rights Act ("Act").

The Illinois Human Rights Act prohibits discrimination in the areas of:

  • Employment
  • Fair Housing
  • Financial Credit
  • Public Accommodations
  • Sexual Harassment in Education

Please explore the links and menu options above for additional information and forms for each area.

Discrimination is prohibited under the Human Rights Act on the bases of race, color, religion, sex (including sexual harassment), national origin, ancestry, military status, age (40 and over), order of protection status, marital status, sexual orientation (which includes gender-related identity), pregnancy, unfavorable military discharge and physical and mental disability. The Act also prohibits discrimination based on familial status in real estate transactions.

Charge Process

A charge of discrimination must be filed within 300 days after the alleged discriminatory action, or one year for a Fair Housing case.

The processing of a charged filed with the Department involves several steps.

Image source: /content/dam/soi/en/web/dhr/images/process-picturey.jpg

Please select a link below for information on a specific step:

Case Status and File Review

For information about the status of a pending charge or to
request to review a case file (file review is only available if
the investigation is not pending or active).
 

Contact Us: E-mail or call (312) 814-4294